Hi all,

It has been a while since my last blog. So here I am again, fresh and fruity, writing a new blog. It might be one of the last, since I’ll be going home in 23 days! Yes, I have already booked my flight back and honestly, I don’t mind going home again. I can’t wait to move back into my room in Nijmegen and do grocery shopping in de Appie. I’ll be so happy when I don’t have to pay 7 euros for a kilo tomatoes anymore!

The last few weeks have been a bit chaotic. I told you in my last blog that Henko came to visit me for a week but during this week, I got a call from home that my grandma got very ill. Although she had been very ill and recovered from it before, they said that this time it would be very hard for her to get better again. When Easter arrived, there was not much left of the sweet and cheerful grandma she used to be. On second Easter day, she passed away. Very sad, but I’m also glad she has been released from her suffering. Together with Henko, I flew back to the Netherlands on Wednesday. Her birthday would have been on Friday, so it was extra special that we could say goodbye to her on that day. I hope she is in heaven now, happily together with Opa watching over us.

On Saturday, it was my dad’s birthday. Guus came up with the idea to buy a tree that Oma had in her front yard. In the morning, we drove to Groenrijk, to buy such a tree. You can imagine when explaining to an employee ‘’we would like to have a tree like Oma had in her front yard’’, he has no idea what we are talking about. We tried to explain what kind of tree it was and eventually, we found the right one. Because it was already blossoming, we had to drive home VERY slow. With 10 km/h we arrived at the driveway and saw the exact same tree we just bought already planted in our front yard. Well, at least the idea was good 🙂 .

Coming up next time: a week in Sweden with MAP.

LoL